{{:: 'cloudflare_always_on_message' | i18n }}

Slum Village 624

AKA: J-88

About Slum Village

Slum Village was a group from Detroit. The hip-hop trio was formed by MCs Baatin (deceased, 31 July, 2009) and T3, plus producer-MC J Dilla (deceased, 10 February, 2006).

In 2002, J Dilla departed from the group and MC eLZhi joined in his absence, after which Baatin left due to health complications before his death in 2009, three years after Dilla’s death. eLZhi would eventually depart from the group as well to pursue his solo career.

At present, the evolution of Slum Village continues with reinvigorated energy. A short stint including MC Illa J made the group a trio again, but S.V. is currently a duo between founding member T3 and Grammy-nominated producer YOUNG RJ (who has been contributing to S.V. projects since 2002’s Trinity (Past, Present and Future)).